skip navigation

The First 40

The Hobey Baker Memorial Award has been presented to the U.S. college hockey player best displaying the virtues Hobey Baker embodied during his lifetime. Past winners of the Hobey Baker Memorial Award include five members of the
U.S. Hockey Hall of Fame, five Stanley Cup champions, two Olympic gold medalists, and an inductee to the Hockey Hall of Fame in Toronto.

In Hobey Baker Memorial Award: The First 40, Brian W. Shaughnessy chronicles the careers of the forty winners of American college hockey’s most prestigious honor.

“This is a must-read, must-have book for any serious fan of college hockey. Mr. Shaughnessy has written a thorough, complete book detailing the careers of some of the greatest NCAA hockey players of all-time.” 

Brian Burke – Longtime National Hockey League executive and General Manager of the 2007 Stanley Cup champion Anaheim Ducks

“Take a trip down Memory Lane and enjoy the rich history of the Hobey Baker Award winners, runners-up, and finalists. The remarkable individual and team records of these young men are eye-popping. By providing a short biography of each winner, Brian Shaughnessy allows the players’ accomplishments to speak for themselves – just as Hobey Baker’s accomplishments did many years ago.” 

George McPhee – 1982 Hobey Baker Memorial Award recipient and President of Hockey Operations, Vegas Golden Knights, National Hockey League 

On Sale

ONLY $24.95