skip navigation

Hobey Baker Award Fan Balloting Now Open

By Wally Shaver, 02/01/21, 3:00PM CST


St. Paul, Minn. – Beginning at noon CST today, fan balloting opened for the 2021 Hobey Baker Award. 

Awarded annually to college hockey’s top player, the Hobey Baker’s tremendously popular fan-voting will run from now until Sunday, March 7 at midnight. College hockey fans can cast their vote by going to the voting website;

Follow the prompts to make your selection from this year’s outstanding crop of college hockey players representing NCAA Division I schools. Please spend some additional time to check out the detailed bios by following the links on each candidate.

Phase two of fan balloting will come from the list of Top Ten Hobey Baker finalists beginning March 18 and closing March 28. The fans’ vote accounts for a full one percent of the total ballot in each phase in selecting this year’s award recipient.

Award criteria include candidates exhibiting the exceptional character traits of the award’s namesake, Hobey Baker. A legendary American hero, Baker was a World War I fighter pilot and was known as America’s greatest amateur athlete in his day, excelling at hockey and football at Princeton University. Award candidates must demonstrate strength of character both on and off the ice, contribute to the integrity of his team and display outstanding skills in all phases of the game. Consideration should be given to scholastic achievement and sportsmanship.  

Key Hobey Baker announcement dates for 2021 include:

  • Top Ten list of finalists:  March 17
  • Hobey Hat Trick of three finalists:  April 1
  • Hobey Baker Award announcement:  April 9

The 2021 Hobey Baker Award winner will be announced from a field of three Hobey Hat Trick finalists on Friday, April 9, 2021 during the NCAA Frozen Four Championship in Pittsburgh, PA. The award ceremony will be broadcast nationally on NHL Network and streamed live at For more info on the Hobey Baker Award please visit  To access the Hobey logo and trophy photos, please visit

The candidates listed are based on nominations from their respective schools. Not all schools choose to participate in the Vote for Hobey campaign.