skip navigation

2011 Winner - ANDY MIELE of Miami University


In his Hobey Baker year, Andy Miele outpaced everyone in college hockey, piling up 71 points in just 39 games—the most points in Division I hockey in eight years. Miele overall scored 24 goals and 47 assists, becoming the first Miami RedHawk to win the Hobey Baker Award. The senior from Grosse Pointe Woods, Michigan, won the CCHA conference scoring title, posting 16 goals and 40 assists for 56 points in 28 league games—an average of two points per game and the most points in conference play in 19 years. Amazingly, his 40 assists were more than the second place player had in total points—a first in league history—and his 47 assists in all games led the nation, earning him CCHA Player of the Year honors and a First Team all-star berth. He had multiple point efforts in 22 of 39 games played. An American Studies major with a coaching minor, Miele joined the U.S. National Team for the IIHF World Championship in Slovakia, then signed a pro contract with the Phoenix Coyotes as a free agent, playing seven NHL games in 2011-12 while collecting 54 points in 69 games at Portland in the American Hockey League. Last season he added 53 points in 70 games and is currently in his third season with the Phoenix organization.


2011 Runner-Ups

Cam Atkinson

Boston College, Forward






University of North Dakota, Forward





Carter Camper

Miami University, Forward




Chase Polacek

Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute, Forward




Gustav Nyquist

University of Maine, Forward




Jack Connolly

University of Minnesota Duluth, Forward




Justin Schultz

University of Wisconsin–Madison, Defense




Paul Thompson

University of New Hampshire, Forward




Paul Zanette

Niagara University, Forward