skip navigation

2008 Winner - KEVIN PORTER of University of Michigan


Senior forward Porter almost single-handedly helped Michigan to their national record 23rd Frozen Four. In his final spring of play, in two games at the East Regional he had a hand in six of Michigan's seven goals, bagging five goals and one assist. He finished second in the nation in points and goals, totaling 33 tallies, adding 30 assists for 63 points in 43 games. He was tied for second in the nation with 15 power play goals, recorded 18 multiple-point games, and had a plus-minus of +33, culminating in his being named CCHA Player of the Year and a finalist for the league’s Best Defensive Forward. The First Team CCHA honoree was named the Hockey Commissioner's National Player of the Month for January. As a General Studies major, Porter volunteered with visits to Mott Children’s Hospital and various Make-A-Wish Foundation activities. From Northville, Michigan, Porter was a Phoenix draft pick and spent his first two seasons split between the NHL and San Antonio of the AHL. He was traded in March 2010 to the Colorado Avalanche where he played for three seasons before being signed in 2012 as a free agent by Buffalo, where he remains. He captained the Sabres' AHL affiliate, Rochester, during the 2012 lock-out.


2008 Runner-Ups

Nathan Gerbe

Boston College, Forward





Ryan Jones

Miami University, Forward





Jean-Philippe Lamoureux

University of North Dakota, Goalie




Jeff Lerg

Michigan State University, Goalie




Kevin Regan

University of New Hampshire, Goalie




Lee Jubinville

Princeton University, Forward




Ryan Lasch

St. Cloud State University, Forward




Simon Lambert

Rochester Institute of Technology, Forward




T.J. Oshie

University of North Dakota, Forward