skip navigation

2002 Winner - JORDAN LEOPOLD of University of Minnesota


Capping a remarkable four-year career, the Golden Gophers captain was named Minnesota’s fourth Hobey Baker Award winner and went on to help his team to its fourth NCAA championship. A Hobey Baker finalist for two straight seasons, Leopold posted 48 points in 44 games to lead all defensemen in the nation in scoring. The mobile blue-liner from Golden Valley, Minnesota, scored 20 goals, assisted on another 28, and tallied eight power play goals in his super season. Jordan established two team records by a defenseman—most goals in a season (20) and in a career (45)—while finishing third in team points during his senior season. For the second straight year, Leopold was the WCHA Defensive Player of the Year and a First Team all-star. A two-time All American, Leopold has been an NHL player for eleven years, spending three seasons each with Calgary Flames and Colorado Avalanche, and a split season with the Florida Panthers and the Pittsburgh Penquins. After two complete seasons with the Buffalo Sabres he was traded midway through the 2012-13 season to St. Louis, where he continues to play for the Blues.


2002 Runner-Ups

Darren Haydar

University of New Hampshire, Forward





Mark Hartigan

St. Cloud State University, Forward





Doug Murray

Cornell University, Defense




Jim Fahey

Northeastern University, Defense




Marc Cavosie

Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute, Forward




Rob Collins

Ferris State University, Forward




Ryan Carter

Iona College, Forward




Ryan Miller

Michigan State University, Goalie




Wade Dubielewicz

University of Denver, Goalie