skip navigation

2001 Winner - RYAN MILLER of Michigan State University


In his sophomore season, Miller became the second goaltender to win the Hobey Baker Award. He led the nation in all major goalie categories, including wins (31), goals against average (1.32), and shutouts (10), and he set an NCAA record for saves percentage (.950). His two-year total of 18 shutouts set an NCAA career shutout record. Miller’s outstanding year was capped with six CCHA post-season awards, including Player of the Year and Best Goaltender honors for the hometown hero from East Lansing, Michigan. The business major set several team and CCHA records to help guide the Spartans to the #1 national ranking heading into the NCAA Frozen Four tournament. In 2001-02, Miller was again a Hobey Baker Award top ten finalist. He garnered CCHA MVP honors for the second straight year, was named Goalie of the Year for the third straight season, and added eight more shutouts to his NCAA career shutout record of 26. In the 2010 Vancouver Olympics he backstopped the United States team to a silver medal. Now in his twelfth NHL season with the Buffalo Sabres, Ryan Miller is widely recognized as one of the NHL’s top goaltenders.


2001 Runner-Ups

Brian Gionta

Boston College, Forward






Andy Hilbert

University of Michigan, Forward




Dany Heatley

University of Wisconsin–Madison, Forward




Erik Anderson

St. Lawrence University, Forward




Jeff Hamilton

Yale University, Forward




Jeff Panzer

University of North Dakota, Forward




Jordan Leopold

University of Minnesota, Defense




Kent Huskins

Clarkson University, Defense




Ty Conklin

University of New Hampshire, Goalie