skip navigation

1999 Winner - JASON KROG of University of New Hampshire


The first Hobey Baker recipient from the University of New Hampshire, the senior centerman finished conference play with 20 goals and 53 points in 20 games, averaging 2.2 points per game. Krog became the first Hockey East player since 1993 Hobey Baker Award recipient Paul Kariya to break 50 points in conference play. The Wildcats captain from Fernie, B.C. led all scorers nationally in a number of categories through 41 games, including points (85), goals (34), assists (51), points per game (2.08), goals per game (.83), and (1.24) assists per game. The unanimous selection as the Hockey East Player of the Year, Krog was also a Hobey Baker finalist in 1998. He completed 15 seasons of pro hockey and has spent time with five NHL teams (NY Islanders, Anaheim, Atlanta, NY Rangers and Vancouver), seven AHL teams, and had a two-year stint in Europe. Krog spent two seasons with the Chicago Wolves of the AHL through 2011, and is now in his third season with HV71 Jonkoping of the Swedish elite league.


1999 Runner-Ups

Mike York

Michigan State University, Forward






Michel Larocque

Boston University, Goalie




Brian Gionta

Boston College, Forward




Brian Swanson

Colorado College, Forward




Eric Heffler

St. Lawrence University, Goalie




Hugo Boisvert

Ohio State University, Forward




Jason Blake

University of North Dakota, Forward




Jeff Hamilton

Yale University, Forward




Steve Kariya

University of Maine, Forward