skip navigation

1997 Winner - BRENDAN MORRISON of University of Michigan


The first Hobey Baker Award recipient from the University of Michigan, Morrison led the nation in both regular season scoring (31-57 for 88 points) and assists per game (1.32). He was on the ice for more than half of all Michigan goals in leading the Wolverines to the 1997 CCHA title and a berth in the NCAA Championship. Morrison, from Pitt Meadows, B.C., was named the CCHA Player of the Year for the second consecutive season and shattered school records for career points (284) and assists (182), ranking him among the Top 10 all-time point leaders in NCAA history with 284. He scored the overtime winning goal in the 1996 NCAA Championship title game, and was a Hobey Baker Award finalist and All-America selection for three straight years. A second round pick (3rd overall) of the New Jersey Devils, Morrison has enjoyed an illustrious pro career covering New Jersey (three seasons), Vancouver (seven seasons), Anaheim, Dallas and Washington. In 2011-12 he started his 14th NHL season (the second with Calgary) before being traded to Chicago and retiring the following the season. He played in 995 NHL games, earning 631 total points.


1997 Runner-Ups

Chris Drury

Boston University, Forward






Brian Swanson

Colorado College, Forward




Jason Blake

University of North Dakota, Forward




John Madden

University of Michigan, Forward




Martin St. Louis

University of Vermont, Forward




Mike Crowley

University of Minnesota, Defense




Mike Harder

Colgate University, Forward




Randy Robitaille

Miami University, Forward




Todd White

Clarkson University, Forward