skip navigation

1988 Winner - ROBB STAUBER of University of Minnesota


Robb Stauber was the first goaltender to receive the Hobey Baker Award. The 1988 WCHA Player of the Year from Duluth, Minnesota, helped the Golden Gophers to WCHA regular season titles in 1988 and 1989, and had an NCAA runner-up finish in 1989. He received Minnesota’s John Mariucci Most Valuable Player Award in 1988, and set Golden Gopher single season records for games played (44), minutes played (2,621), saves (1,711), and shutouts (5) in 1987-88 while posting a 2.72 goals against average and .913 save percentage . He also holds Golden Gopher career records for games played (98), minutes played (5,717), wins (73), and save percentage (.906). He was named All-WCHA first team and All-America first team in 1988, as well as WCHA Goaltender of the Year in 1988 and 1989. He retired from professional hockey in 1998 after a ten-year pro career that included four seasons in the NHL with the Los Angeles Kings and Buffalo Sabres. Stauber currently operates Robb Stauber’s Goalcrease training center in Minnesota.


1988 Runner-Up

Mark Vermette

Lake Superior State University, Forward






David Capuano

University of Maine, Forward




Mike Golden

University of Maine, Forward




Nelson Emerson

Bowling Green State University, Forward




Paul Ranheim

University of Wisconsin–Madison, Forward




Pete Lappin

St. Lawrence University, Forward




Phil Berger

Northern Michigan University, Forward




Rejean Boivin

Colgate University, Forward




Steve Johnson

University of North Dakota, Forward