skip navigation

2021 Hobey Baker Hat Trick

The Hobey Baker Memorial Award Committee is pleased to announce the three Hobey Baker Hat Trick finalists for the 2021 award, honoring college hockey’s top player.

The three finalists were selected from the initial list of Top Ten candidates by the 30-member Selection Committee and an additional round of online fan balloting to determine this year’s Hobey Baker Award winner. Criteria for the award includes: displaying outstanding skills in all phases of the game; strength of character on and off the ice; sportsmanship and scholastic achievements.

This year’s Hobey Baker Award winner will be announced Friday, April 9, 2021 live on NHL Network beginning at 6:00 pm ET. The 41st annual Hobey Baker Award show will also include the announcements of the Hockey Humanitarian Award, the East and West All-American Teams and the Mike Richter Award for the nation’s top college hockey goalie. Alphabetically, here is more on this year’s three Hobey Hat Trick finalists.

Cole Caufield

University of Wisconsin-Madison
Sophomore, Forward
Stevens Point, Wisconsin

  • Finished his season with 30 goals, 22 assists for 52 points in 31 games – averaged 1.68 points per game to lead the nation
  • Led the nation with 24 power play points and 11 power play goals
  • Montreal draft (1st round – 15th overall) – signed a pro contract following this season

Dryden McKay

Minnesota State University, Mankato
Junior, Goalie
Downers Grove, Illinois

  • His current record is: 21-3-0 (.875 win percentage best in nation) – goals against average 1.39 (2nd best in nation) – save percentage .931 (tied-6th in nation)
  • In 25 games started, allowed two or less goals in 19 games – pro hockey free agent
  • Finance major with 3.83 GPA – First Team All-American last season

Shane Pinto

University of North Dakota
Sophomore, Forward
Franklin Square, NY

  • Finished his season with 15 goals, 17 assists for 32 points – had 12 multiple point games
  • Kinesiology major with 3.59 GPA – Ottawa draft (2nd round)
  • Last season: NCHC Rookie of Year; led Team USA in scoring at World Junior Championship