skip navigation

Ed Saugestad - 2007 Legend of College Hockey

By Jack DeGange

Number two all-time. Only one person can say that. And Ed Saugestad isn’t going around bragging about it either. The former Augsburg College (Minneapolis) head hockey coach amassed 503 career wins as the bench boss of the Auggies becoming the second winningest coach in Division III college hockey history.

As the recipient of the 2007 Hobey Baker Legends of Hockey award, Ed Saugestad was recognized for his lengthy and outstanding service to college hockey at the Hobey Baker Memorial Award Banquet on May 3, 2007 in St. Paul. Saugestad was honored along with 2007 Hobey Baker Award winner Ryan Duncan.

In a phenomenal career that spanned parts of five decades and 37 seasons from 1958 to 1996, Saugestad recorded over 500 career wins (503-354-21). Among his many accomplishments, Saugestad guided the Auggies to three NAIA national titles and six Minnesota Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (MIAC) titles.

During the 1970s and early 1980s, Augsburg was a national power making 10 post-season appearances in 12 years from 1971 to 1982 (nine NAIA and one NCAA Division III). From 1975 to 1982, Augsburg had a glorious run of eight straight national tournament berths, earning national championships in 1978, 1981 and 1982.

Following each of those championship seasons, the always-jovial Saugestad was named NAIA National Coach of the Year. He was also named MIAC Coach of the Year six times and coached 22 All-Americans at Augsburg.

In the ultimate honor, the MIAC’s playoff championship trophy was christened as the Ed Saugestad Trophy in 1998. Fittingly, the first team to win the Saugestad Trophy was Augsburg during the 1997-98 season.

Saugestad began his illustrious career while still a student at Augsburg in 1958, graduating with a double major in physical education and biology in 1959, adding a master’s degree from the University of Minnesota in 1964. In addition to coaching hockey, Ed also served as an Augsburg football coach from 1959-1984 including head coach in the 1970 and 1971 seasons. Ed served as men’s athletic director from 1981-1987, and during his entire career at Augsburg, he was an instructor in the school’s Health and Physical Education department.

Ed was honored by the American Hockey Coaches Association with the John MacInnes Award in 2002 for his contributions to the growth of amateur hockey in the U.S. Winners of this award have helped young people grow not only as hockey players, but more importantly as individuals. And in a unique tribute from his home state, February 17, 1996 was declared Ed Saugestad Day by the State of Minnesota.